My Name is Gossip

REMEMBER ME?

My name is Gossip.

I have no respect for Justice.

I maim without killing.

I break hearts and ruin lives.

I am cunning and malicious and gather
strength with age.

The more I am quoted, the more I am believed.

I flourish at every level of society.

My victims are helpless.

They cannot protect themselves against me because I have no name and no face.

To track me down is impossible.
The harder you try, the more elusive I become.

I am nobody’s friend.

Once I tarnish a reputation, it is never quite the same.

I topple governments and wreck marriages.

I ruin careers, cause sleepless nights, heartache and indigestion.

I spawn suspicion and generate grief.

I make innocent people cry in their pillows.

Even my name hisses.

I am called Gossip.

Office gossip.

Shop gossip.

Neighborhood gossip.

Church gossip.

I make headlines and headaches.

Before you repeat a story, ask yourself,

Is it true?

Is it fair?

Is it necessary?

If not, SHUT UP!

via @Alucinando1

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to My Name is Gossip

  1. Velma Jean Holmes says:

    Good comment. True sentiments. Now if the world would just listen. Maybe someday the tabloid press will be found only as dusty historic files in some ancient library. Aside from the beautiful faces
    I wonder what our descendants would make of such information. One thing is sure, I doubt that any
    descendant of a tabloid owner or writer will look back at their ancestor with pride. They will be more likened to the 19th century’s grave robber without the side benefit of its contribution to medical science. No, unless I miss my guess such ancestors will be politely forgotten or given new identities
    which come to think of it is only poetic justice.

Leave a Reply

